S.D. Robertson

SDRobertson bio picFormer journalist S.D. Robertson quit his role as a local newspaper editor to pursue a lifelong ambition of becoming a novelist. An English graduate from the University of Manchester, he’s also worked as a holiday rep, door-to-door salesman, train cleaner, kitchen porter and mobile phone network engineer. Over the years Stuart has spent time in France, Holland and Australia, but home these days is back in the UK. He lives in a village near Manchester with his wife and daughter. There’s also his cat, Bernard, who likes to distract him from writing – usually by breaking things.

His debut novel Time To Say Goodbye was published by Avon on 11th February 2016 and is a ‘heart-rending story about the unique bond between a father and his daughter, for fans of Jojo Moyes and John Green – for anyone who’s ever wondered what it would be like to get one last chance to say goodbye.’

S.D. Robertson’s second novel, If Ever I Fall, is published by Avon on 9th February 2017. It is a poignant, thought-provoking story of family tragedy.

Is holding on harder than letting go? 

 Dan’s life has fallen apart at the seams. All he’s ever wanted is to keep his family together, but everything seems beyond repair and, try as he might, he can’t turn back time.  

 Maria is drowning in grief. She spends her days writing letters that will never be answered, unable to connect with the real world.   

In the face of real tragedy, can this couple find a way to reconcile their past with a new future? And is love enough to carry them through?

Praise for If Ever I Fall:

“A wonderfully told tale of devastation, grief and ultimately hope, with a narrative that grips from the start and doesn’t let go until the final page.”
Kathryn Hughes, bestselling author of The Letter and The Secret

“When I wasn’t actually reading this book, I found myself thinking constantly about it. Real. Emotional. Powerful. A must-read for anyone who loves to lose themselves completely in a book.” Claudia Carroll

“A wonderful trip-hopping path through family relationships, death and bereavement that keeps you guessing to the turn of the last page. S.D. Robertson writes with brave assurance that makes the story a must read and marks him as an author to follow.” Stewart Foster, award-winning author of The Bubble Boy