Five Fabulous BLM Books Publishing Today!

Rounding off a fantastic month of #BLMBooks, we have five fabulous books by our super-talented authors and illustrators being published today!

1st up to bat is the enchanting CLOUD FOREST by the critically acclaimed Victoria Turnball.

Published by Frances Lincoln, this incredibly moving tale speaks of the power of books to bring people together, and to help us remember loved ones when they’re no longer with us.

“A story will help,” said Umpa. “Stories make everything grow.”

A child’s Umpa teaches them to read and to follow the words, out the garden gate and all the way to the sea. Every day is a new adventure. They visit castles in the air, feast with friends and sail away on the rains. But then one day, Umpa isn’t there…

This incredibly moving tale from acclaimed author-illustrator Victoria Turnbull speaks of the power of books to bring people together, and to help us remember loved ones when they’re no longer with us.


Our 2nd out is the second adventure of the supersmart SOPHIE JOHNSON, this one entitled SOPHIE JOHNSON: DETECTIVE GENIUS. It’s written by our own Morag Hood, partnering again with illustrator Ella Okstad, who are the dream team behind SOPHIE JOHNSON: UNICORN EXPERT, which was published by Simon & Schuster last year!

Sophie Johnson studied very hard to become a detective and it’s a good thing she did – there has been a terrible crime!

Someone has stolen Lion’s tail. Unfortunately, this means that Sophie doesn’t have time to train her new (and not very good) assistant, Bella.

However, is it possible that, while Sophie is busy rounding up suspects, she doesn’t see that Bella may be better than she thinks?


Our 3rd book out today have Jeanie and Bad Nana taking us off to the fair in BAD NANA: ALL THE FUN OF THE FAIR! The sequel last year’s wickedly funny BAD NANA: OLDER NOT WISER, it’s Sophy Henn‘s second book out this month!

Hi! I’m Jeanie – 7 ¾ years old, and a BIG fan of badges.

BAD NANA is one of my three grandmas (yes, three). Of course, “Bad Nana” isn’t actually her actual name – but it’s what everyone has been calling her for MILLIONS of years. If I had MY way, I would call her “Fun Nana”, because she is actually brilliant. Yes, she’s a bit NAUGHTY sometimes, but in an EXCELLENT way.

My Dad says she really should know better, but I think she’s so bad, she’s GOOD!


4th is an absolute corker! Bursting on to the shelves in a cloud of rainbows and Mer-men, FREE TO BE ME is LGBTQ+ writer and illustrator influencer DOM&INK‘s brand new journal! Published by Penguin Kids it’s a journal for anyone from 13 to 103.

Every rainbow-coloured page is packed with LGBTQ+ activities, advice and attitude.

With spreads to colour, scribble, design and glitter, you’ll meet dancing drag queens, rainbow donuts and the world’s sassiest LGBTQ+ dinosaur: Brett the Sassysaurus!

Read quotes from real-life rainbow icons, find out how to throw your own Pride Party, and learn about the history of gay rights. Most importantly: celebrate being yourself and what makes YOU amazing!

Warm, hilarious, caring and insightful, Free To Be Me will fill every reader with self-esteem, confidence, colour and pride.


Our final book out today is a brand spanking new debut novel from writer Beth Corby Where There’s a Will . . . is the story of Hannah, a twenty-five year old woman who is left an unusual bequest by an estranged great uncle to experience life in all its ups and downs. It’s published today in e-book by Hodder & Stoughton .

Would you take the chance that could change everything?


Twenty-five-year-old Hannah has spent the last few years jumping from degree to degree, from job to job, searching for her passion in life – but nothing seems to be going her way. So when her rich, eccentric great-uncle Donald leaves her a mystery bequest in his will, she’s gobsmacked. But there’s a catch: before she can find out what she’s inherited, she must undertake a series of unknown tasks alongside Donald’s (rather gorgeous) PA, Alec. As the tasks progress and she and Alec grow closer, Hannah begins to think that Donald’s real gift to her might have more to do with love than money . . .


This funny, romantic and uplifting novel is perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Cathy Hopkins and Anna Bell.