Denzil Meyrick

Agent: Jo Bell    

Denzil Meyrick was born in Glasgow and brought up in Campbeltown. After studying politics, he spent time as a police officer, freelance journalist, and director of several companies.

He now pens the successful DCI Daley series set in the fictional close-knit Scottish community of Kinloch, all books in the series to date have been number one bestselling UK audiobooks on Audible.

First in the DCI Daley series, Whisky from Small Glasses was Waterstones Scottish Book of the Year in 2015, #6 The Relentless Tide was one of the Scotsman newspaper’s books of 2018 and #7 A Breath on Dying Embers, published in July 2019, was longlisted for the 2019 Mcilvanney Prize for Scottish Crime Book of the Year.

Jeremiah’s Bell, the 8th in the DCI Daley series published in June 2020, with the 9th in the series, For Any Other Truth published on 3rd June 2021. The 10th DCI Daley novel, The Death of Remembrance which published in June 2022.

A Large Measure of Snow, a tale from Kinloch novella published in October 2020, with a further Kinloch novella, A Toast to the Old Stones published on 4th November 2021. 2023 welcomed the 11th DCI Daley novel, No Sweet Sorrow, which was published in June.

Murder at Holly House was published in November 2023 with a Waterstones exclusive and limited edition published with green sprayed edges.

Praise for the DCI Daley series:

‘With Meyrick it’s visceral and this one is no exception from its chillingly atmospheric prologue to the epilogue’s final, deadpan line. Will chime with crime connoisseurs.’ — Sunday Post

‘Absorbing ... no run-of-the-mill tartan noir.’ — The Times

‘You’ll have a blast with these.’ — Ian Rankin

Denzil’s latest novel is Murder at Holly House, published by Transworld, an imprint of Penguin Random House, in November 2023.

Murder at Holly House is a dazzling Christmas murder mystery from the bestselling author of the DCI Daley series, published by Transworld in November 2023.

It’s December 1952, and a dead stranger has been found lodged up the chimney of Holly House in the remote town of Elderby. Is he a simple thief, or a would-be killer? Either way, he wasn’t on anyone’s Christmas wish list. Inspector Frank Grasby is ordered to investigate. The victim of some unfortunate misunderstandings, he hopes this case will help clear his name. But as is often the way for Grasby, things most certainly don’t go according to plan.