S.D. Robertson

SDRobertson bio pic

Former journalist S.D. Robertson quit his role as a local newspaper editor to pursue a lifelong ambition of becoming a novelist. An English graduate from the University of Manchester, he’s also worked as a holiday rep, door-to-door salesman, train cleaner, kitchen porter and mobile phone network engineer. Over the years Stuart has spent time in France, Holland and Australia, but home these days is back in the UK. He lives in a village near Manchester with his wife and daughter. There’s also his cat, Bernard, who likes to distract him from writing – usually by breaking things.

His debut novel Time To Say Goodbye was published by Avon in 2016 and is a ‘heart-rending story about the unique bond between a father and his daughter, for fans of Jojo Moyes and John Green – for anyone who’s ever wondered what it would be like to get one last chance to say goodbye.’ His second novel, If Ever I Fall, was published by Avon in 2017. It is a poignant, thought-provoking story of family tragedy, which garnered praise as “a wonderfully told tale of devastation, grief and ultimately hope, with a narrative that grips from the start and doesn’t let go until the final page.” (Kathryn Hughes, bestselling author of The Letter and The Secret).

His third novel, Stand By Me, from Avon was released in January 2018.  It  has been described as a heartwarming story perfect for fans of Keith Stewart and Jojo Moyes, that will leave you with a tear in your eye but hope in your heart.

Stewerts fourth novel, out in March 2019 and continuing his partnership with Avon, is My Sister’s Lies. It’s an emotional story that delves into the true meaning of family, sisterhood and secrets. Perfect for fans of Kerry Fisher and Adele Parks.

You trust your sister … don’t you?
Hannah’s life is pretty close to perfect: she has a great job, she’s married to Mark, and she enjoys her child-free existence. The only sadness in her life is a fall out with her sister Diane, who hasn’t spoken to her in over ten years. But now Diane is on her doorstep – and this time, she’s got her teenage daughter Mia in tow.
When Diane asks if Mia can stay with Hannah and Mark for a few days, Hannah is glad of the chance to get to know her niece. But as the days turn into weeks and Diane doesn’t return, Hannah begins to worry. Why hasn’t her sister been in touch?

Diane is carrying a devastating secret that will destroy Hannah’s carefully constructed life. But how much is she willing to reveal – and when will she pick her moment?
My Sister’s Lies is a gripping, emotional story of love, loss and dark family secrets.