Happy publication day to Not Yet, Zebra!

We’re kicking February off in some style with the release of Not Yet, Zebra, with beautiful and heartwarming illustrations from the wonderful Julia Woolf!

Annie said to the animals, “Please stand in a line.
I’m painting my alphabet. Come one at a time!
First Aardvark and Bear and Crocodile too.

Not yet, Zebra. I’m not ready for you…”

Annie wants to paint an alphabet using her animals, but Zebra simply can’t wait until the end for his time to shine. Sneakiness, silly costumes and plain pushiness doesn’t get him anywhere – but he has to learn to wait his turn!

Not Yet, Zebra is a charming and funny tale about a zebra who just wants his turn in the spotlight! A February treat to snuggle up with and read again and again.

You can get your own copy of Not Yet, Zebra here . . .

 . . . and you can see more of Julia’s fantastic work by following her on Twitter @juliawoolf

A Lamb Called Lucky – on shelves today!

Some people say that the first of February is the start of spring – and it certainly feels like it in the Bell Lomax Moreton offices as today is the publication of A Lamb Called Lucky.

It’s lambing time on the farm and Jasmine has her hands full. She has two orphaned baby birds to care for, as well as a tiny motherless lamb who needs her attention. She’s determined to look after little Lucky and keep him safe. But there are bigger dangers facing the flock, ones that come in the dead of night…

Ellie Snowdon’s vivid and charming drawings bring Helen Peters’ tale to life in a story that will make readers of all ages laugh and cry! Lucky is the lamb everyone will love – and you can read more about Jasmine’s adventures in the other books in the series, all available from the Nosy Crow website.

You can get your own copy of A Lamb Called Lucky here . . .

. . . and you can see more of Jasmine’s adventures and Ellie’s drawings on her Twitter @esillustration!

It’s a January book bonanza!

This Thursday in the Bell Lomax Moreton offices we’re looking out at the grey, rainy sky – but our day is being brightened by some amazing books, all published today!

Rachel Cullen’s memoir Running For My Life is a funny, heartfelt and inspirational story of one woman’s marathon journey through mental illness.

Suffering from depression but desperate for ‘normality’, Rachel Cullen found herself in failing relationships, the wrong career and a reliance on alcohol and chocolate to get her through each day. Stuck in an endless cycle of mental misery, she put on a pair of old trainers.

She’d never been able to think of herself as a ‘runner’ before, and the first time she forced herself out the door, she knew it would hurt. Everywhere. She just didn’t realise how much it would heal her, too.

Interspersed with Rachel’s real diary entries, from teenage non-runner to London Marathon finisher (just months after giving birth), she questions if she really can outrun her demons. Running For My Life is available here, and you can stay up to date with Rachel’s running and writing @writtenbyrach.

Lisa Sheehan’s wonderful illustrations can be seen in Lionel and the Lion’s Share, a delightful lesson about learning to share. Lionel the lion does NOT like to share. After all, lions always get the lion’s share. He buys all the best instruments from the music shop, all the smartest hats from the hat shop and all the brightest balloons from the balloon stall. But at Chloe’s birthday party Lionel goes too far and eats ALL the cake. That’s when Lionel’s friends decide that something has to be done . . . you can get your own copy of Lionel and the Lion’s Share here, and see more of Lisa’s work @lisa_r_sheehan.

Katy Birchall’s new series kicks off today with Secrets of a Teenage Heiressgiving us a much-longed for glimpse behind the scenes in the lives of the rich! Flick’s family have owned The Royale – one of London’s most prestigious hotels – for generations. But Flick isn’t that interested. She is interested in the newest guest – superstar celebrity Skylar Chase, and Sky’s mega-famous group of friends, including dreamy YouTube star, Ethan Duke. But just as Flick gets the chance to join their glittering squad, she gets grounded following an unfortunate incident involving a prince, a wardrobe and a selfie stick (it could have happened to anyone!). With only her Instagram star pet dachshund, Fritz, for company, will Flick find a way to escape The Royale and join the fame game? Perfect for fans of Geek Girl, The Princess Diaries and Super Awkward, you can read all about Flick’s adventures here, and stay tuned for news on the next installment @katybirchall.

Holly Surplice’s beautiful new picture book, I Love You, Little One is a lovely story of how one guinea pig mummy loves her little one so much more than she can say. As they spend a fun-filled day together – painting, reading, baking and sharing a very special picnic – she finds lots of different ways to show the very special love between a mother and child. I Love You, Little One is available here, and you can see more of Holly’s illustrations on Twitter @hollysurplice.

S. D. Robertson’s Stand By Me is a beautiful tale of Lisa and Elliot, who have been best friends ever since the day they met as children. Popular, bright and sporty, Lisa was Elliot’s biggest supporter when the school bullies made his life a misery, and for that, he will always be grateful. Twenty years later, life has pulled the pair apart and Lisa is struggling. Her marriage is floundering, her teenage kids are being secretive, and she’s so tired she can’t think straight. So when Elliot knocks on the door, looking much better than she remembers, she can’t help but be delighted to see her old friend again.

With Elliot back in their lives, Lisa’s family problems begin to improve – he’s like the fairy godmother she never had. As their bond deepens, she realises how much she’s missed him, and prays that this is one friendship that will last a lifetime. But sometimes, life has other ideas… Perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes, Stand By Me is available here, and you can stay up to date with more of Stuart’s writing on Twitter @SDRauthor.

Happy publication day to Dog in Boots!

In a glorious start to 2018, we’re delighted to see Paula Metcalf’s Dog In Boots published today by OUP Children’s!

From much-loved children’s author and illustrator, Paula Metcalf, comes a hilarious and uplifting tale about loving who you are. Philip the dachshund is in love with Penelope. She has kind eyes, a waggy tail, and the most beautiful smile. But there is a slight problem. While Penelope is very tall, Philip is not. He’s too tiny to kiss her, even on tiptoes! He needs a plan to make himself tall. But maybe he just needs be himself . . .

Dog In Boots is a funny and touching lift-the-flap picture book which will have readers of all ages cheering for Philip!

You can buy your own copy of Dog In Boots here . . .

 . . . and you can stay up to date with Paula and her projects on Twitter @luckytoes72!